Brexit Hub | Ulster Bank

Brexit Hub


What it means for you

Our number one priority is to serve and support our customers.

The UK left the EU on 31 January 2020 at 23.00 GMT and has now entered a transition period with the EU, which is due to end on 31 December 2020.


Icon expand What this means for you?

There should be no change to your everyday banking services during the transition period. We’ll continue to support you and keep you informed and updated. We’re closely monitoring the situation and we’re committed to providing you with as much notice as possible should any changes be required. Our aim is to continue to provide you with the same level of service and range of products as we do today.


Icon expand How we prepared for the UK leaving the EU

We continue to provide services for our customers that live, work and do business in the Republic of Ireland.

We’ve already made changes to the way we’re organised to ensure we can serve customers now that the UK has left the EU. Those customers affected by these changes have already been contacted by their Relationship Manager.

We continue to work closely with our regulator, the Irish Government and trade organisations to help us understand what the future UK-EU relationship means for the Financial Services sector.

We have created these useful guides to help support our customers further:

Add your signposting title here…

Brexit Frequently Asked Questions


Icon expand Which countries are in the EU?

The EU comprises:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.


Icon expand Which countries are included in the European Economic Area (EEA)?

The EEA includes EU countries and Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. It allows them access to the EU’s single market.

Switzerland is neither an EU nor EEA member but is part of the single market - this means Swiss nationals have the same rights to live and work in the UK as other EEA nationals.


Icon expand Will I still be able to use ATMs in the UK and EU countries?

Yes. It will still be easy to use your bank card in ATMs in the UK and across Europe, in much the same way as you can use it today when you go on holiday to non-EU countries, such as America or Australia. And, of course, you can continue to access your bank account through our mobile app and online banking to conduct your everyday banking needs.



Icon expand Is my money safe?

Yes. If you are currently covered by the Deposit Guarantee Scheme, you will continue to be covered by this scheme. Ulster Bank Ireland DAC will continue to be regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland.

Further information on the Republic of Ireland Deposit Guarantee Scheme can be found here.


Icon expand What is the Withdrawal Agreement?

The Withdrawal Agreement sets out the terms of the UK’s exit from the EU, including provisions for a transition period until 31 December 2020.

Further Information

If you have any questions in relation to Brexit, please contact us. Our general contact numbers can be found on our website:

Personal customers

Information is also available for our business customers here.

Irish Government Support Tools

-       General

-       What Brexit means to you

-       European Movement Ireland Brexit A-Z

Set Tab for lightbox